Tips On What To Wear To Family Pictures |Family Picture Reveal

hey ya’ll!

Throughout these past years I have made it my mission to take family pictures even if it is just a mommy & me shoot, to me they are a very special moment between the family & ultimately its something the kids will have as memories. & every time I post the final result a few of my friends message me asking “girl, how did you pick out yall’s outfits?” or “where did you find that location” 

& well today I come bearing gifts! I’ll be sharing my tips on what or who influences me when I’m picking our outfits out. I’m no expert y’all this is what works for me.

1. Color Scheme

The first thing I like to do is pick out or colors. I base this on our location and time of year (mostly time of year) So for example this years family shoot was in the fall and in a park with a lot of trees and bodies of water. This to me off the bat screamed dark colors (black, navy, Burgundy, mustard yellow, olive green and so on)  If I was doing a spring shoot I would go for more light and bright colors.

2. Pinterest!! 

Pinterest is my best friend during this time! I usually search picture ideas & I will come across a lot of beautiful family shoots. & I’ll look at their outfits & pick out what I like & build my own little portfolio if that makes sense. The boys outfit was inspired by a pin I saw the little boy was wearing something very similar to what they wore just in different colors. Terrence’s outfit was also inspired by Pinterest. And then I slowly start building our outfits from that. I love doing things like this on the regular so its fairly easy for me. Pinterest is honestly the best!

3. Online Shopping

Now this one can be a bit tricky and I don’t always do it for everybody in the family because I can go to my local store and find the items, but y’all this time I around finding navy blue dressy pants were like the most difficult thing to find (go figure) So I ordered the boys pants & Kason’s shirt online from H&M. I also had their shoes in the basket but Terrence went to the mall and actually found similar ones at Crazy8 & they were a bit more affordable so ssccoorree. I think that along as you buy from the store on a regular basis you are familiar with what size to get so theres really no risk. I took a big risk with mine because I had never order from FashionNova but they did not disappoint. Plus you have a wide variety to pick from online!

*also a big tip with online shopping make sure you order your stuff ahead of time just incase you have to return something.

4. No To Matching!

It’s okay to want to look alike bbbbuuuutttt lets not be matchy matchy, to me that looks a little tacky! We were not matching by any means, the shades of burgundy were totally different & so were the navy blue shades but at the end we complimented one another. I threw in a polka dot pattern, Noah wore navy blue pants & shirt but with a burgundy bowtie & suspenders.

5. BE YOU!

Make sure that you are comfortable with what you pick out. Don’t worry about peoples opinions if you like something and it goes with what you envision in your mind then get it! Your outfit won’t make your pictures YOU & YOUR BEAUTIFUL FAMILY will!

I hope this helps out a little, I’m telling y’all thereS really not technique to my madness lol I just go along with what I see in my mind. But by looking around Pinterest & having a set color scheme helps so much & makes it a bit easier.

& as promised here are a few of our 2018 family pictures

emerierosephotography.com

emerierosephotography.com

emerierosephotography.com

emerierosephotography.com

I would like to thank Vanessa again for taking these amazing pictures of my little family! I am in love with them & my heart is full. I cannot wait to hang these babies up!

Until Next Time

Miriam

10 thoughts on “Tips On What To Wear To Family Pictures |Family Picture Reveal

  1. Beautiful family photos! I totally agree with you – I hate when we all match on a family photo. Wearing different clothing allows us to express a little bit of individuality still on a family picture 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment